12th April, 2014 | Visits to St. Andrew’s Cathedral, Clyde St. & The Briggait, Glasgow | 11am
Our morning visit will be to St. Andrew’s Roman Catholic Cathedral in Clyde Street.
The cathedral, an A-listed building, designed by the architect James Gillespie Graham, was opened in 1816. After almost two hundred years it was closed in 2009 to undergo major renovations and the work was completed in April 2011. Our group will be taken on a guided tour of the church, which will allow us to appreciate the craftsmanship of the past and present including a new canvas by Peter Howson, which depicts St. John Ogilvie facing death at Glasgow Cross in 1615.
Members will meet in the porch of the Cathedral at 11.a.m.
After lunch the group will rendezvous at the Briggait, a short distance from the Cathedral, where we shall be taken on a tour of this fascinating Glasgow landmark.
The Briggait, an A-graded building, was built in 1873 as the city’s fish market but closed in the late 1970’s. In the 1980’s it was reopened as a shopping complex but after a few years it was once again closed. It then lay empty until the WASPS Artists’ Studios, a Charity, began redeveloping the derelict building and transforming it into a state of the art cultural centre. It was officially opened in 2010 and now provides good quality, affordable studio space to enable artists and Arts Charities to carry out their work.
The Briggait is not usually open to the public.
Image of St Andrew's Cathedral by Andy Magee