The Dalrymple Lecture Series 2018/2019

The 2018/19 Dalrymple Lecture Series will be delivered by

Professor Gavin Lucas, University of Iceland

Professor Gavin Lucas

Gavin Lucas been working in archaeology since he was a teenager in the early 1980s, volunteering during the summers for the Museum of London on various developer-led excavations. It was the start of a long, if discontinuous career in contract archaeology which existed parallel to most of his academic life until his first university position in 2006. His formal education in archaeology began as an undergraduate at the Institute of Archaeology UCL in the late 1980s and continued through doctoral studies under Ian Hodder at the University of Cambridge on the topic of time.

After completing his PhD in the mid-1990s he took up full-time work in contract archaeology with the Cambridge Archaeological Unit. It was also during this time he started to develop an interest in the archaeology of the modern world, leading a project in South Africa for three years. He moved to Iceland in 2002 to work for an independent archaeological research institution and there lead a major excavation project on a Bishop’s seat for six years. Finally in 2006, he joined the University of Iceland, where he remains today as Professor of Archaeology.

Gavin has published extensively in archaeological theory as well as the archaeology of the modern world. His key theoretical texts focuses on the practices and methods of archaeology and include the books Critical Approaches to Fieldwork (2001), The Archaeology of Time (2005), Understanding the Archaeological Record (2012) and most recently, Writing the Past (2019). He has also published a book on his South African project An Archaeology of Colonial Identity (2004) and co-edited a volume on Archaeologies of the Contemporary Past (2001).

He is currently working on a manuscript on the excavations of a Bishop’s seat in Iceland as well as directing a project on the archaeology of commerce and consumption in Iceland during the 17th-18th centuries.

18-21 February 2019

The Archaeology of Time


Archaeological site of Skálholt, Iceland in the winter

We are pleased to announce that our 2018/2019 Dalrymple Lecture Series will be given by Professor Gavin Lucas, on the subject of The Archaeology of Time.

This series comprises four lectures held on consecutive days, starting on Monday, February 18, 2019, and finishing on Thursday, February 21, 2019, and please note that unlike our usual lecture programme, the Dalrymple Lecture Series are held in the Sir Charles Wilson Lecture Theatre on the corner of Gibson Street and University Avenue. Each lecture from Monday-Wednesday begins at 6:30pm, while the final lecture of series begins an hour later at 7:30pm. 

There is no need to book tickets in advance for this event; attendance is free of charge and open to members and non-members of Glasgow Archaeological Society alike. If you are interested in becoming a member of the society and would like more information, please see our Membership page or contact our Membership Secretary via email.

Further information on this lecture series will be added as soon as it is available. 


Image: Archaeological site of Skálholt, Iceland in the winter, supplied by Professor Gavin Lucas


About The Dalrymple Lecture Series

This prestigious lecture series was instituted by James Dalrymple Gray of Dalrymple. James Dalrymple was born in July 1852 in Newcastle-upon Tyne to the Reverend Thomas Gray and his wife Mary Dalrymple. He later assumed his mother’s family name when, on the death of his uncle, he succeeded to the estates belonging to her family. He studied law at both Edinburgh and Glasgow Universities, and subsequently practised in Glasgow.

In 1877 he became the Honorary Secretary of Glasgow Archaeological Society which was in decline at the time. With the help of others he succeeded in re-invigorating the Society and held the post of Secretary for some 25 years. He introduced the regular monthly meetings on the third Thursday of the month (a practice still in force today) and often presented papers on a range of topics, particularly castles and churches. He became President of Glasgow Archaeological Society in 1904.

Established in the years 1907-1912 by the annual covenant of James Dalrymple to commemorate the Fiftieth Anniversary of the Society, and subsequently endowed by his bequest which ensures its continuance today. In 1935 it was decided to appoint a permanent Lecturer and, in alternate years, a Special Lecturer for that year only. The Fund is administered by a Board of Curators, four appointed by the University Court and three by the Council of the Glasgow Archaeological Society.

The subject was to be ‘some branch of European archaeology’ and the Dalrymple lectures have been delivered by many of the most distinguished figures in twentieth and twenty-first century archaeology.

1907 Robert Carr Bosanquet, M.A.
1908 Sir George MacDonald, M.A., LL.D.
1910 Robert Munro M.A., M.D., LL.D.
1911 Robert Alexander Stewart Macalister M.A.

1937 Robert Eric Mortimer Wheeler M.C. M.A. D.Litt
1938 Reginald Allender Smith B.A.
1939 Ian Alexander Richmond M.A.

In 1939, the lectureship was associated with duties in the Hunterian Museum:

1940 Anne Strachan Robertson M.A., D.Litt

In 1944 provision was made for a visiting lecturer to give a Dalrymple lecture in alternate years:

1945-46 Gerhardt Bersu
1947-48 Charles Frances Christopher Hawkes M.A.
1950-51 Victor Eric Nash-Williams M.A. D.Litt.
1952-53 William Douglas Simpson D.Litt.
1955-56 John Grahame Douglas Clark M.A., Ph.D., Sc.D., F.B.A.
1956-57 Ian Alexander Richmond M.A., D.Litt., LL.D., F.B.A.
1958-59 Courtenay Arthyr Raleigh Radford M.A., D.Litt., F.B.A.
1960-61 Rupert Leo Scott Bruce-Mittford B.A.
1964-65 Jocelyn Mary Catherine Toynbee, M.A., D.Phil., F.B.A.
1966-67 Stuarty Piggott, B.Litt, D.Litt., F.B.A.
1968-69 Kathleen Mary Kenyon, C.B.E., M.A., D.Litt., F.B.A.
1970-71 David Mackenzie Wison, M. A.
1972 Geoffrey William Dimbleby, B.Sc., M.A., D.Phil
1972-73 Eric Birley, M.B.E., M.A., F.B.A.
1974-75 A.Colin Renfrew M.A., Ph.D.
1976-77 Robert Barron Kerr Stevenson, M.A., F.S.A., F.M.A.
1978-79 Professor M.J. O’Kelly
1981 Professor M.W. Barley
1983 Professor P.R.Giot
1984 Professor Peter S Wells
1985 Dr K Kristiansen
1986 Professor J Sasel
1987-88 Professor Martin Biddle
1988-89 Professor Alexander Fenton
1990-91 Professor Martin Carver
1991-92 Professor Charles Thomas
1992-93 Professor Vassos Karageorghis
1993-94 Professor Rosemary Cramp
1994-95 Professor Emannuel Amati
1995-96 Professor Michael Fulford
1996-97 Professor George Bass
1997-98 Dr John Hume
1999-00 Lord Colin Renfrew
2000-01 Professor Chris Stringer
2001-02 Dr Patrick F Wallace
2002-03 Professor Anders Andren
2003-04 Professor Richard Bradley
2004-05 Dr Philip Freeman
2005-06 Professor Martin Millett
2006-07 Sir Barry Cunliffe
2007-08 Professor Ian Hodder
2008-09 Professor Richard Hodges
2009-10 Professor David Breeze
2010-11 Professor Roberta Gilchrist
2011-12 Professor Ian Ralston
2012-13 Professor Andrew Wallace-Hadrill
2013-14 Professor Mike Parker Pearson
2014-15 Professor William Hanson
2015-16 Emeritus Professor John C Barrett
2016-17 Emeritus Professor Roger Stalley
2017-18 Professor Roger Wilson